Home / Guides / Toast vs. Square

Comparisons

Toast POS Pricing vs. Square: What Each One Actually Costs

A side-by-side built only from figures each company publishes itself — including the most revealing difference between them, which is what one of them does not publish at all.

Updated October 2026 · 5 Apollo

These are the two systems restaurant and retail owners ask about most, and comparing them is harder than it should be — because only one of them tells you what processing will cost before you talk to a salesperson.

Everything below comes from Square's and Toast's own websites. Where a figure is not published by the company itself, we have said so rather than filling the gap with a number from a review site.

The short answer. Square publishes every processing rate (2.6% + 15¢ in person on the Free plan). Toast does not publish a processing rate; it quotes one per business, so the only way to know what Toast costs is to get the quote in writing. Software, hardware, and the $85/month inactivity fee that may apply are covered below, along with how to compare either one fairly.

Square: every rate published

Square publishes its full processing schedule openly. As of this writing, on their own fee page:

Payment typeFree ($0/mo)Plus ($49/mo)Premium ($149/mo)
In person (tap, dip, swipe)2.6% + 15¢2.5% + 15¢2.4% + 15¢
Online / invoice3.3% + 30¢2.9% + 30¢2.9% + 30¢
Online via API2.9% + 30¢2.9% + 30¢2.9% + 30¢
Manual entry / card on file3.5% + 15¢3.5% + 15¢3.5% + 15¢
ACH via invoice1%, $1 min1%, $1 min, $10 cap1%, $1 min, $10 cap
Afterpay6% + 30¢6% + 30¢6% + 30¢
Cash or checkFreeFreeFree

Source: squareup.com/us/en/payments/our-fees. Monthly plan prices are per location.

Square applies the same rate to every major card — Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover — and states that PCI compliance is included in the rate rather than billed separately. Plus and Premium each carry a 30-day free trial. Businesses processing over $250,000 per year can request custom pricing.

Toast: hardware and software published, processing not

Toast publishes plan structure and hardware terms on its pricing page. What it does not publish anywhere on its own site is a processing rate. The pricing page directs you to request a custom quote, and states plainly that Toast is not a payment card processor but a payment facilitator that partners with processors.

What Toast does state publicly, in its own footnotes:

  • The advertised $0 entry applies to first-device hardware only, on the Pay-As-You-Go plan. Software and processing fees still apply.
  • An $85/month inactivity fee may apply.
  • Hardware return may be required upon cancellation.
  • Toast software runs only on Toast-approved hardware. You cannot bring your own, and Toast can change which devices are approved at its discretion.
  • Upfront costs are hardware plus implementation, varying by package; 0% financing is available by application.
  • Toast Care support is included with every software subscription, 24/7.
  • Published pricing applies to new customers and single locations only.

Source: pos.toasttab.com and pos.toasttab.com/pricing.

This asymmetry is the most useful thing in this comparison. You can calculate your Square cost to the penny before you ever speak to anyone. You cannot do that with Toast, because the processing rate — which for most restaurants is the single largest line item, larger than the software subscription — is quoted individually. That is not automatically a worse deal. A negotiated rate can beat a published flat rate, particularly at higher volume. But it does mean the only way to know is to get the quote in writing and run the effective-rate math yourself.

How much does Toast cost? What we can and cannot tell you

This is the most common search about Toast, and it deserves a straight answer: the total cost of Toast cannot be calculated from Toast’s own website, because the processing rate, usually the biggest line, is not published. What you can build from published terms is the structure:

  • Hardware: the advertised $0 entry applies to first-device hardware only, on the Pay-As-You-Go plan; further hardware, implementation and any upfront costs vary by package.
  • Software: a monthly subscription that depends on the plan and modules you choose, which is why Toast directs you to request a custom quote. Payroll, online ordering and other add-ons are priced in that quote, and we have not stated a figure for them because Toast does not publish one we can verify.
  • Processing: quoted individually, as described above.
  • Possible extras: an $85/month inactivity fee may apply, and hardware return may be required on cancellation.

When you get a Toast quote, ask for every line in writing (software per month, each add-on, hardware, implementation, processing rate and per-transaction fee), then convert it to an effective rate as described below.

Where the real cost difference usually lands

For most restaurants, monthly software is not the deciding number. Consider a room doing $60,000 a month in card volume: the difference between Square Free and Square Premium is $149 a month in software, but 0.2% of that volume is $120 a month in processing — and a rate difference of half a percent is $300 a month. Processing dominates.

Software subscription (typical range)$0–$149/mo
Processing on $60k/mo volume at 2.6%~$1,560/mo

Illustration using Square's published 2.6% in-person rate on a hypothetical $60,000 month. Your figures will differ. The point is the proportion, not the exact number.

Structural differences that outlast the pricing

SquareToast
Processing ratePublished openly for every payment typeNot published; quoted per business
HardwareSquare hardware, plus phone-only optionsToast-approved hardware only; return may be required on cancellation
Account structureAggregate modelPayment facilitator partnering with processors
Entry cost$0/mo on Free tier$0 on first device hardware only, Pay-As-You-Go; software and processing extra
Idle costNo monthly fee on Free tier$85/mo inactivity fee may apply
Built forGeneral purpose across retail, beauty, services, foodRestaurant-specific, deep kitchen and FOH tooling

Which one fits

Square tends to fit smaller and mixed-format operations, businesses that want predictable published costs with no negotiation, seasonal businesses that would be hit by an inactivity fee, and anyone who values being able to walk away without hardware entanglements.

Toast tends to fit full-service restaurants that will genuinely use restaurant-specific tooling — coursing, kitchen displays, floor plans, integrated online ordering — and that have enough volume to negotiate processing meaningfully.

Neither fits well if you are paying for a deep feature set you do not use, or if you are on a flat published rate at volume high enough that interchange-plus pricing would beat it. Both of those are common and both are fixable without changing your entire operation.

Whichever you choose, you can still lower the processing cost

Because processing is the largest line item for most restaurants and retailers, it is the one worth attacking. Two routes that work with either kind of business: a lower-rate traditional setup (we review your statement and quote you in effective-rate terms), or a cash discount program for counter-service businesses, set up to meet New York’s pricing rules. If you want hardware matched to how you actually run, see our POS systems and terminals page, or on-site installation in NYC.

The question to ask either one

Whatever they quote, convert it to an effective rate: total monthly fees divided by total monthly card volume. That single number is comparable across any two providers. A headline rate is not.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Toast POS cost per month?

Toast does not publish a single monthly price. Software is a subscription that depends on the plan and add-ons, and processing is quoted per business. Published terms include $0 first-device hardware on Pay-As-You-Go (software and processing still apply) and an $85/month inactivity fee that may apply. Ask for the full quote in writing and convert it to an effective rate.

Does Toast publish its processing rates?

No. Toast’s own pricing page directs you to request a custom quote and states that Toast is a payment facilitator that partners with processors. Square, by contrast, publishes its full processing schedule.

What does Square charge per transaction?

On Square’s published schedule, in-person payments are 2.6% + 15¢ on the Free plan, 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus ($49/mo) and 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium ($149/mo). Online and invoice payments are 3.3% + 30¢ on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium. Rates can change, so confirm on Square’s fee page.

Which is better for restaurants, Toast or Square?

Toast tends to fit full-service restaurants that will use restaurant-specific tooling (coursing, kitchen displays, floor plans, integrated online ordering) and have enough volume to negotiate processing. Square tends to fit smaller and mixed-format operations that want predictable published costs and no hardware entanglements. The deciding number is usually the effective rate, not the software price.

What does Toast payroll cost?

Toast does not publish a payroll price that we could verify from its own site, so we do not state one. Payroll is priced as part of your quote, so ask for it as a separate line.

Can I lower my processing costs on either one?

Often, yes. Processing is usually the largest line item, and a quote or flat rate is not always the best available. Send us your statement or quote and we will convert it to an effective rate and show you how it compares, free.

Compare your quote against your actual statement

Send us your current statement and any quote you have been given. We will convert both to effective rates so you are comparing like with like.

Get a free statement analysis

Sources

  1. Square, Understanding Our Fees — full processing rate schedule — squareup.com
  2. Square Support, Learn about Square fees — squareup.com
  3. Square press release, unified plans and pricing (plan tiers and monthly prices) — squareup.com
  4. Toast, Restaurant POS Pricing & Plans — pos.toasttab.com
  5. Toast homepage (Pay-As-You-Go footnotes, inactivity fee, hardware terms) — pos.toasttab.com

Every figure in this article comes from Square's or Toast's own website. No third-party estimates were used. Toast does not publish a processing rate on its own site; we have therefore not stated one.

All pricing figures are drawn from Square's and Toast's own public websites and are subject to change. 5 Apollo is not affiliated with Square or Toast; both names are trademarks of their respective owners. This article is provided for general educational purposes and reflects information available as of October 2026. It is not legal or compliance advice, and it is not a substitute for reviewing your own merchant agreement or consulting an attorney about your specific situation. Card network rules, state law, and processor pricing change; verify current requirements with your processor or the relevant regulator before acting.